Honoring Exceptional Volunteers for 33 Years: The A.K. Guy Award

Last updated: March 23, 2022, at 7:07 a.m. PT

Originally published: December 30, 2020, at 2:35 p.m. PT


The A.K. Guy Award is presented to individuals, couples, or families who exemplify the ideals of the late Albert K. Guy through their outstanding volunteer service and dedication to social responsibility and equity and justice for all.

History of the Award

AK Guy

The Y has been listening and responding to our region’s most critical social needs for more than 130 years. In 1983, the Y established the A.K. Guy Award in memory of Albert K. Guy. The award honors those who strive to better serve their community through dedicated volunteer service. 

A lifelong Seattleite, A.K. Guy (1892 – 1983) graduated from the former Broadway High School in 1910. He served as President of G.O. Guy Drugs, was a 45-year member of the Seattle Rotary Club, a member of Queen Anne United Methodist Church, and a fellow of Seattle Pacific University. Guy held the Y close to his heart as a member of the YMCA Board of Directors and an enthusiastic volunteer and supporter of YMCA Camp Orkila.

Save the Date: 9/28/22

You won't want to miss this year's reimagined and inspiring celebration of volunteerism. Event to be held in the early evening at the iconic Seattle Art Museum. Details coming soon.

Past Recipients & Event Themes

2021 YMCA A.K. Guy Award honoring Connie Ballmer and Ballmer Group (Removing Barriers & Creating Opportunities)

2015 YMCA A.K. Guy Award honoring Jeff & Tricia Raikes (United for Youth)

2014: Matt Griffin and Evelyne Rozner (Paving the Way)

2013: Dan and Nancy Evans (Serving Without Limits)
2012: Martha Choe (Leading for Good)
2011: Phil Smart, Sr. (Driven to Serve)
2010: Bill and Paula Clapp (Together for a Better World)
2009: “Four Amigos” – Larry Gossett, Roberto Maestas, Bob Santos & the late Bernie Whitebear  (Seattle’s Fantastic Four)
2008: Colleen Willoughby (Dream Big. Act Together.)
2007: Hon. Richard A. Jones(Guilty as Charged…for Exceptional Volunteerism)
2006: Maggie and Doug Walker (Moving Mountains with Passion & Optimism)
2005: Constance and Norman Rice (Putting the C in Seattle)
2004: J. Shan Mullin (In the Building Game)
2003: Peter Horvitz (Extra, Extra, Read All About It!)
2002: Seattle Works (On the Line for Good)
2001: William H. Gates (Leading the March toward a Just Society)
2000: Anne Farrell (Leadership with Wisdom, Strength and Dignity)
1999: Tomio Moriguchi (Tradition Guides a Quiet Hero)
1998: Scott and Laurie Oki (Linking Passion to Action)
1997: Safeco and Roger Eigsti (Boomerang Giving)
1996: Rev. Samuel B. McKinney (Do Unto Others)
1995: Herb and Shirley Bridge (Building Bridges)
1994: Donald J. Covey (Seattle’s Good Fortune)
1993: The Junior League of Seattle (Celebrating Seventy Years)
1992: Jim and John Ellis (Picnic in the Park)
1991: John and Mary Ann Mangels (Partners for Change)
1990: The Boeing Company and Frank Shrontz
1989: Eddie Carlson 
1988: Frances P. Owen 
1987: Andy Smith and Pacific Northwest Bell 
1986: Michael Dederer
1985: Kate and Holt Webster
1984: Hon. Joel Pritchard